maneetorn@gmail.com   +66897552186   TAT License: 24/00360

Sukhothai

Together with Sukhothai, Si Satchanalai grew from a rural area to an urban character. According to a stone inscription, kings of early Sukhothai period reigned Si Satchanalai Sukhothai which had been formerly known as Chaliang. During the time when Sukhothai was annexed as part of the Kingdom of Siam with Ayutthaya as its capital, Ayutthaya people called Si Satchanalai by the name of Sawankhalok which was regarded as an outer province. After the sack of Ayutthaya by the Burmese in 1767, Sawankhalok became in decay and was finally deserted. In Rattanakosin period the town was relocated at Ban Muang Kao, three kilometers to the south of its old place, and was later moved to Ban Wang Mai Khon which is a present in Amphoe Sawankhalok of Changwat Sukhothai.


Visitors: 2,297
Maneetorn@gmail.com